Brunei: The setting for Internet scam

Marini Mohamad FB

Marini: Her FB page

Get this! Came in the mail box; some ‘woman’ of mixed parentage, late dad Bruneian, mum English and lives in London but she had never been to Brunei. To cut the story short, she will want to lure you into some investment scam. Similar emails received and they all work in Hewlett Packard! If they think you are Malaysian then one of their parents will be Malaysian.

Her places lived link and the of map of London was copied from a FB page, “London, United Kingdom” which had photos of some Bruneian personalities.

My names are Marini Mohamad, I am mixed Brunei ,my father is Brunei and my mother is from England…I speak very very little of my language…lol i was born here in London and have never been to Brunei. You just have to understand that communication is an integral aspectof life. Well you have got a good smile. lol,i am an IT guru presently working with Hewlett-Packard here in London, i enjoy what i do but because of the way Muslims are being treated over here that is why i want to come down to Brunei, my dad is late and it has been his dream to have 1 of his siblings come and live in Brunei and i want to take up the challenge,well i only have a younger sister who is currently studying in the united states, i don’t mean to cause any problem in your family but i think i will like to be with you so you can help me settle in when i come over also you have to help me cos i want to make some pre-investments when i arrive too.i hope to hear from you soon.

Bye Marini

 

  1. #1 by Izzuddin Ghani on January 5, 2014 - 4:00 pm

    Her words are exactly the same, other than the name of the country…She has multiple fb accounts…I nearly wanted to believe her since as far as I know, a scam is automatic, cannot reply and only just posting links

    Luckily my friend told me about it

  2. #2 by Tendy Aswad on January 24, 2014 - 10:16 am

    “Thank you for getting back to me as a matter of fact i really liked your profile picture when i saw you i never knew that it wouldn’t take such a long time for you to get back to me, My names are Marini Mohamad, I am mixed indonesian ,my father is indonesia and my mother is from England…I speak very very little of my language…lol i was born here in London and have never been to indonesia. You just have to understand that communication is an integral aspect of life. Well you have got a good smile. lol,i am an IT guru presently working with Hewlett-Packard here in London, i enjoy what i do but because of the way Muslims are being treated over here that is why i want to come down to indonesia, my dad is late and it has been his dream to have 1 of his siblings come and live in indonesia and i want to take up the challenge,well i only have a younger sister who is currently studying in the united states, i don’t mean to cause any problem in your family but i think i will like to be with you so you can help me settle in when i come over also you have to help me cos i want to make some pre-investments when i arrive too.i hope to hear from you soon. Bye Marini”

    Thank you for the explanation, the above is the email I received, exactly as you describe.

Leave a Reply

